Team 1

Image

Human micronutrition

Supervisor
Image
Patrick Borel

Team members


Bioavailability : from foods to postprandial phase 

Emmanuelle Reboul

The work carried out by the group “Bioavailability” explores the different stages (from digestion to the production of chylomicrons) and the different factors (lipid and non-lipid food intake, food matrix, hormones, factors circulating as free fatty acids, genetic variations, circadian rhythms, drug treatments and bariatric surgery) that govern the absorption and postprandial metabolism of lipids, glucose and lipid micronutrients.

Factors modulating the bioaccessibility of lipid micronutrients

Patrick Borel, Charles Desmarchelier & Emmanuelle Reboul

Lipid micronutrient absorption efficiency can be very low (a few % of the ingested dose) and is very variable as it is affected by many factors (dietary matrix in which micronutrients are ingested, interactions with macronutrients, absorption capacity related to individuals...). Two key limiting steps of lipid micronutrient absorption are their extraction from the food matrix and their incorporation into micelles (bioaccessibility), which allow their transport to enterocytes. Our team is internationally recognized for its work on this topic. We have recently studied the stability of these compounds in the acid and pro-oxidative environment of the digestive tract, the physicochemical mechanisms that govern their micellization, and the effect of the food matrix on their micellization efficiency.

Keywords: bioaccessibility, digestion, food matrix, micelles, digestive tract.
Main publications of recent years:

Bioavailability of lipid micronutrients in the context of sustainable diets

Patrick Borel & Emmanuelle Reboul

Sustainable diets are protective of the environment, economically equitable and affordable, but also culturally acceptable, nutritionally adequate, safe and healthy. The current food supply, however, is generally unsustainable: it has not been able to tackle malnutrition and malnutrition prevalence is still elevated, under the threat of environmental crisis. Part of the team's work is therefore to identify new sources of lipid micronutrients that could be compatible with a sustainable diet (i.e. plant enrichment in lipid micronutrients by exposure to light (UV-C) or water stress, enrichment of insects in lipid micronutrients using vegetable waste from food industry).

Some "sustainable" food matrices, such as legumes and vegetable protein sources in the broad sense, are also carriers of compounds (polyphenols, phytates, saponins, etc.) that can alter the bioavailability of lipid micronutrients. We therefore study the interactions between the compounds of these matrices and the lipid micronutrients to propose dietary and technological solutions to overcome these effects.

This is performed by quantifying lipid micronutrients in different food sources, evaluating their bioaccessibility using in vitro digestions, and validating these results by measuring bioavailability in rodents and humans (clinical trials).

Main publications of recent years:
Key words: pulses, vegetal proteins, insects, environment, sustainability

Mechanisms of intestinal transport of lipid micronutrients

Emmanuelle Reboul

The molecular mechanisms of the intestinal absorption of fat-soluble vitamins and carotenoids remain poorly understood.

We seek to evaluate how dietary compounds (fatty acids, phenolic compounds, …) modulate the transport of micronutrients through the enterocyte.

Our goal is also to identify membrane proteins involved in the transport of lipid micronutrients at the enterocyte level and to evaluate their respective contribution to the absorption of their different ligands. For example, cholesterol transporters have been implicated in the absorption of vitamin D, E, K and some carotenoids.

Finally, we have recently shown that the intestine is not a simple entry for lipid micronutrients in the body. The intestine can also limit the absorption of micronutrients by excreting them from the enterocytes into the intestinal lumen, or even by effluxing them from the bloodstream to the intestinal lumen. These new metabolic pathways are thus being investigated.

A better understanding of all these transport pathways is essential since some dietary or therapeutic approaches (aimed at decreasing the absorption efficiency of cholesterol, for example) can negatively impact on the bioavailability of lipid micronutrients.

This part of our work is mainly carried out by evaluating the absorption of lipid micronutrients in cultured cell models (Caco-2 TC7 human intestinal cells modified or not using CRISPR/CAS9 technology, transfected human HEK cells, etc.), before in vivo validation.

Main publications of recent years:
Keywords : enterocyte,membrane transporter, absorption, efflux.

Genetic and epigenetic factors modulating lipid micronutrient bioavailability and metabolism

Charles Desmarchelier & Patrick Borel

Some genetic or epigenetic variations in the genes coding for the many proteins involved in the transport and metabolism of lipid micronutrients can modulate these processes and therefore lead to different health effects from one individual to another.

We have recently shown that combinations of single nucleotide polymorphisms (SNPs) are associated with the variability in the bioavailability of vitamin D and E as well as carotenoids (β-carotene, lutein, lycopene).

We are currently seeking to extend these observations to other micronutrients (cholesterol, water-soluble vitamins) as well as to identify SNPs involved in the variability of their tissue deposition.

We also seek to characterize the impact of these genetic variations on the health effects of lipid micronutrients or their metabolites by measuring the prevalence of pathologies (cancer, dyslipidemia, obesity) in participants with or without some of these SNPs.

The identification of these variations will allow nutritionists to propose dietary recommendations tailored to an individual’s genetic characteristics in order to optimize the health effects of micronutrients.

This part of our work is carried out by bioinformatic analyses of data from clinical and epidemiological studies carried out by our team or in collaboration with international teams.

Main publications of recent years:
Keywords: genetic polymorphisms, personalized nutrition, nutrigenetics, epigenetics, perinatal nutrition.

Role of the intestine in the regulation of postprandial metabolism of lipids and lipid micronutrients and in the pathophysiological mechanisms of atherogenic dyslipidemia in insulin-resistant patients

René Valéro, Sophie Béliard & Marie Maraninchi

The current global "epidemic" of obesity, type 2 diabetes and metabolic syndrome represents a major public health problem, as it is accompanied by an increase in cardiovascular complications which represent the leading cause of morbidity and mortality. These diseases, which often share an insulin-resistant state, are characterized by a specific atherogenic dyslipidemia (AD): hypertriglyceridemia, postprandial hyperlipidemia, decreased level of HDL-cholesterol and increase of small and dense LDL. The main pathophysiological mechanism of this AD is the blood accumulation of triglyceride-rich lipoproteins (TRL) of intestinal (chylomicrons) and hepatic (VLDL) origin. This accumulation is secondary to an overproduction of chylomicrons and VLDL and a defective TRL clearance. The overproduction of intestinal TRL is a newly recognized component of insulin resistance. Fasting and postprandial blood elevation in TRL concentration, which is mainly due to an increased production of chylomicrons, is now considered a causal risk factor for low-grade inflammation, cardiovascular diseases and total mortality.

It now appears that chylomicron intestinal production, and consequently postprandial lipemia, is highly regulated by many factors: lipid and non-lipid food intakes, food matrix, circulating free fatty acids, hormones, genetic variations, circadian rhythms, but also drugs and bariatric surgery.

Our objective is to better understand the different factors that modulate both absorption and postprandial metabolism of lipids and lipid micronutrients. In particular, we are trying to understand what are the pathophysiological mechanisms responsible for this AD. Using human clinical studies and stable isotope lipoprotein kinetic studies, our research team has gathered groundbreaking data on factors modulating postprandial lipemia and AD. We have recently shown significant changes in the metabolism of TRL in relation to the improvement of insulin-resistance and the lipid profile after bariatric surgery. In a recent publication, we have shown that the beneficial effects of bariatric surgery on the lipid profile were associated with a reduction and a redistribution of apolipoprotein C-III, which is a key factor in the regulation of TRL metabolism. Finally, works in progress aim to better understand the link between lipid micronutrient status in obese patients and defect of absorption, in particular due to changes in expression of carriers of the enterocytic membrane.

The atherogenic potential of these TRL makes it particularly necessary to understand the factors regulating their production but also the mechanisms of their intestinal hyperproduction and their plasma accumulation in insulin resistance syndromes in order to develop new treatments targeted on the enterocyte to improve the lipid micronutrient status and lipid profile of these patients and thereby reduce the incidence of cardiovascular diseases.

Main publications of recent years:
KEY WORDS: INTESTINE, INSULIN RESISTANCE, TRIGLYCERIDE RICH LIPOPROTEINS (LRT), POST-PRANDIAL LIPEMIA, KINETIC STUDY OF LIPOPROTEIN METABOLISM, BARIATRIC SURGERY

GLUT4, postprandial glucose homeostasis and fat-soluble micronutrients

Roland Govers

Type 2 diabetes (T2D) prevalence is exceedingly high in modern society and is still increasing at an alarming rate worldwide. It is associated with obesity, unhealthy diets, and lack of physical activity. Diabetes has become one of the major causes of premature illness and death in many countries, mainly through the increased risk of cardiovascular disease.

Glucose transporter GLUT4, a key molecule in T2D, is responsible for the insulin-regulated uptake of excess glucose from the blood by adipose tissue and muscle, especially in the postprandial state. In the non-stimulated (basal, fasting) state, GLUT4 is efficiently retained within intracellular compartments. The nature of this retention mechanism is currently largely unknown. Upon insulin stimulation during the postprandial state, GLUT4 translocates to the cell surface via increased exocytosis and/or diminished retention, allowing the cell to take up glucose.

Our team has two research goals. First, we aim to unravel in vitro the cellular trafficking pathways of GLUT4. We determine how these are altered in insulin resistance, a condition that is closely associated with T2D, and their sensitivity to micronutrients, especially those derived from food during the postprandial phase. To this aim, we study various GLUT4 trafficking parameters in insulin responsive and insulin resistant cells, such as intracellular retention, insulin signaling, and the dynamics of GLUT4 between the different organelles. In addition, we study the role of reactive oxygen species (ROS), also sensitive to (phyto)micronutrients, in intracellular GLUT4 traffic, under both physiological and pathophysiological conditions.

In a more translational research line, multiple methodologies are exploited in order to find novel ways to modulate GLUT4 traffic in vitro and in vivo. In particular, we focus on enhancing the appearance of GLUT4 at the cell surface via interference with either insulin signaling or the intracellular GLUT4 retention machinery. This research line includes the analysis of the effects of food components, such as (phyto)micronutrients. The final goal of this research line is to be able to ameliorate glucose homeostasis in diabetes in vivo using GLUT4 as target molecule.

These studies will allow to better understand how (phyto)micronutrients from food affect certain aspects of intracellular GLUT4 traffic and of the complications that are associated with the dysregulated postprandial glucose homeostasis associated with T2D.

Main publications of recent years:
 KEYWORDS: GLUT4, adipocyte

Equipe 1

Image

Micronutrition humaine

Responsable
Image
Patrick Borel

Composition de l’équipe


Biodisponibilité : de l’aliment à la phase postprandiale 

Emmanuelle Reboul

Les travaux menés dans le cadre de la thématique « Biodisponibilité » explorent les différentes étapes (de la digestion à la production de chylomicrons) et les différents facteurs (les apports alimentaires lipidiques et non lipidiques, la matrice alimentaire, les hormones, les facteurs circulant comme les acides gras libres, les variations génétiques, les rythmes circadiens, les traitements médicamenteux et la chirurgie bariatrique) qui régissent l’absorption et le métabolisme postprandial des lipides, du glucose et des micronutriments lipidiques

Facteurs qui modulent la bioaccessibilité des micronutriments lipidiques

Patrick Borel, Charles Desmarchelier & Emmanuelle Reboul

L’efficacité absorption des micronutriments lipidiques peut être très faible (quelques % de la dose ingérée), et est très variable car affectée par de nombreux facteurs (matrice alimentaire dans laquelle ils sont ingérés, interactions avec les macronutriments, capacités d’absorption liées à l’individu…). Deux points clés de l’absorption des micronutriments sont: leur extraction de la matrice alimentaire, et leur incorporation dans les micelles (bioaccessibilité) qui permettent leur transport jusqu’aux entérocytes. Notre équipe est reconnue internationalement pour ses travaux sur ce sujet. Nous avons récemment étudié la stabilité de ces composés dans l’environnement acide et pro-oxydant du tube digestif, les mécanismes physico-chimiques qui gouvernent leur micellisation, et l’effet de la matrice alimentaire sur leur micellisation.

Mots clés : bioaccessibilité, digestion, matrice alimentaire, micelles, tube digestif.
Principales publications de ces dernières années

Biodisponibilité des micronutriments lipidiques et alimentation durable

Patrick Borel & Emmanuelle Reboul

Les régimes alimentaires durables sont protecteurs de l'environnement, économiquement équitables et abordables, mais aussi culturellement acceptables, nutritionnellement adéquats, sûrs et sains. L'offre alimentaire actuelle n’a pourtant rien de durable: elle n'a pas permis de combattre la malnutrition et la mauvaise alimentation, et elle reste une cause majeure de menaces environnementales. Une partie du travail de l’équipe consiste donc à identifier de nouvelles sources de micronutriments lipidiques qui pourraient être compatibles avec une alimentation durable (i.e. enrichissement des végétaux en micronutriments lipidiques par exposition à des stress lumineux (UV-C) ou hydrique, enrichissement d’insectes en micronutriments lipidiques tout en valorisant les déchets végétaux de l’industrie agro-alimentaire).

Certaines matrices alimentaires « durables », comme les légumineuses et les sources de protéines végétales au sens large, sont aussi vectrices de composés (polyphénols, phytates, saponines, etc.) qui peuvent altérer la biodisponibilité des micronutriments lipidiques. Nous étudions donc les interactions entre les composés de ces matrices et les micronutriments lipidiques pour proposer des solutions diététiques et technologiques afin de palier à ces effets.

Cette partie de notre travail est réalisée en dosant les micronutriments lipidiques de différents sources alimentaires, en évaluant leur bioaccessibilité grâce à un modèle de digestion in vitro, et en validant ces résultats par des mesures de biodisponibilité chez le rongeur et chez l’homme (études cliniques).

Principales publications de ces dernières années
Mots clés : légumineuses, protéines végétales, insectes, environnement, durabilité.

Mécanismes du transport intestinal des micronutriments lipidiques

Emmanuelle Reboul

Les mécanismes moléculaires de l’absorption intestinale des vitamines liposolubles et des caroténoïdes restent mal connus.
Nous cherchons à évaluer comment les composés de l’alimentation (acides gras, composés phénoliques…) peuvent moduler le transport des micronutriments au travers de l’entérocyte.
Nous cherchons également à identifier les transporteurs membranaires de micronutriments lipidiques et à évaluer leur contribution respective vis-à-vis de l'absorption de leurs différents ligands. C’est ainsi que des transporteurs du cholestérol ont été impliqués dans l’absorption des vitamines D, E, K et de certains caroténoïdes.

Enfin, nous avons récemment montré que l’intestin n’est pas uniquement une porte d’entrée des micronutriments dans l’organisme. Il peut en effet également limiter l’absorption des micronutriments en les effluant des entérocytes vers la lumière intestinale, voire les éliminer de la circulation sanguine vers la lumière intestinale. Ces nouvelles voies métaboliques sont en cours d’exploration.
Mieux comprendre l’ensemble de ces phénomènes est essentiel étant donné que certaines approches alimentaires ou thérapeutiques (visant à diminuer l’absorption du cholestérol par exemple) peuvent impacter négativement la biodisponibilité des micronutriments lipidiques.
Cette partie de notre travail est principalement réalisée en évaluant l’absorption des micronutriments lipidiques dans des modèles de cellules en culture (cellules intestinales humaines Caco2 TC7 modifiées ou non par la technologie CRISPR/ CAS9, cellules humaines HEK transfectées, etc.), puis validé in vivo.

Principales publications de ces dernières années
Mots clés : entérocyte, transporteur membranaire, absorption, efflux.

Facteurs génétiques et épigénétiques modulant la biodisponibilité et le métabolisme des micronutriments lipidiques

Charles Desmarchelier & Patrick Borel

Certaines variations génétiques ou épigénétiques dans les gènes codant pour les nombreuses protéines impliquées dans le transport et le métabolisme des micronutriments lipidiques peuvent moduler ces processus et donc conduire à des effets santé différents d’un individu à l’autre.
Nous avons ainsi récemment montré que des combinaisons de polymorphismes mononucléotidiques (SNPs) sont associées à la variabilité de la biodisponibilité des vitamines D et E ainsi que de caroténoïdes (β-carotène, lutéine, lycopène).
Nous cherchons maintenant à étendre ces observations à d’autres micronutriments (cholestérol, vitamines hydrosolubles) ainsi qu’à identifier des SNPs impliqués dans la variabilité de leur dépôt tissulaire.
Nous cherchons de plus à caractériser l’impact de ces variations génétiques sur les effets santé des micronutriments lipidiques ou de leurs métabolites en mesurant la prévalence de pathologies (cancer, dyslipidémies, obésité) chez des participants porteurs ou non de certains de ces SNPs.
L’identification de ces variations permettra de proposer des recommandations nutritionnelles adaptées aux particularités génétiques de chaque individu afin d’optimiser les effets santé des micronutriments.
Cette partie de notre travail est réalisée par des analyses bio-informatiques de données issues d’études cliniques réalisées par notre équipe ou en collaboration avec des équipes internationales.

Principales publications de ces dernières années
Mots clés : polymorphismes génétiques, nutrition personnalisée, nutrigénétique, epigénétique, nutrition périnatale.

Rôle de l’intestin dans la régulation du métabolisme post-prandial des lipides et des micronutriments lipidiques et dans les mécanismes physiopathologiques de la dyslipidémie athérogène du patient insulino-résistant

René Valéro, Sophie Béliard & Marie Maraninchi

L’«épidémie» mondiale actuelle d’obésité, de diabète de type 2 et de syndrome métabolique représente un problème majeur de santé publique car elle s’accompagne notamment d’une augmentation des complications cardiovasculaires qui représentent la première cause de morbi-mortalité. Ces maladies, qui ont souvent en commun un terrain d’insulino-résistance, sont caractérisées par une dyslipidémie athérogène (DA) spécifique : hypertriglycéridémie, hyperlipidémie postprandiale, baisse du HDL-cholestérol et augmentation des LDL petites et denses. Le mécanisme physiopathologique principal de cette DA est l’accumulation sanguine des lipoprotéines riches en triglycérides (LRT) d’origine intestinale (chylomicrons) et hépatique (VLDL). Cette accumulation est secondaire à une hyperproduction des chylomicrons et des VLDL et à un défaut d’épuration des LRT. La surproduction des LRT intestinales est une composante nouvellement reconnue d'insulino-résistance. L’élévation sanguine à jeun et postprandiale de la concentration des LRT, qui est principalement due à l’augmentation de production des chylomicrons, est maintenant considérée comme un facteur de risque causal d’inflammation à bas bruit, de maladies cardiovasculaires et de mortalité totale.

Il apparaît maintenant que la production intestinale des chylomicrons et par conséquent la lipémie postprandiale est hautement régulée par de nombreux facteurs : les apports alimentaires lipidiques et non lipidiques, la matrice alimentaire, les acides gras libres circulants, les hormones, les variations génétiques, les rythmes circadiens, mais également les médicaments et la chirurgie bariatrique.

Notre objectif est de mieux comprendre les différents facteurs qui modulent l’absorption et le métabolisme postprandial des lipides et des micronutriments lipidiques. En particulier, nous essayons de comprendre quels sont les mécanismes physiopathologiques responsables de cette DA. Dans le cadre d’études cliniques et grâce à une méthode d’exploration cinétique du métabolisme des lipoprotéines avec utilisation d’isotopes stables, les récents travaux de notre équipe ont permis de rassembler des données innovantes sur les facteurs modulants la lipémie postprandiale et la DA. Nos résultats montrent des changements importants dans le métabolisme des LRT en relation avec l’amélioration de l’insulino-résistance et du profil lipidique après chirurgie bariatrique. Une récente publication nous a également permis de démontrer que les effets bénéfiques de la chirurgie bariatrique sur le profil lipidique étaient associés à une diminution et une redistribution lipoprotéique de l’apolipoprotéine C-III qui est un facteur clé de régulation du métabolisme des LRT. Enfin, des travaux en cours visent à mieux comprendre le lien entre statut en micronutriments lipidiques chez les patients obèses et défaut d’absorption notamment dû aux modifications d’expression des transporteurs de la membrane entérocytaire.
Le potentiel athérogène de ces LRT rend particulièrement nécessaire la compréhension des facteurs régulant leur production mais aussi des mécanismes de leur hyperproduction intestinale et de leur accumulation plasmatique dans les syndromes d’insulino-résistance afin de développer de nouveaux traitements ciblés sur l’entérocyte pour améliorer le statut en micronutriments lipidiques et le profil lipidique de ces patients et ainsi réduire l’incidence des maladies cardiovasculaires.

Mots clés : intestin, insulino-résistance, lipoprotéines riches en tryglycérides (LRT), lipémie post-prandiale, étude cinétique du métabolisme des lipoprotéines, chirurgie bariatrique
Le transporteur de glucose GLUT4, homéostasie glucidique postprandiale et micronutriments lipidiques

Roland Govers

La prévalence du diabète de type 2 (DT2) est extrêmement élevée dans les sociétés modernes et continue d'augmenter à un rythme alarmant sur un plan mondial. Elle est associée à l'obésité, à une alimentation déséquilibrée et au manque d'exercice physique. Le diabète est devenu une cause majeure de maladies prématurées et de décès dans de nombreux pays, en particulier parce qu'il accroît le risque de maladies cardiovasculaires.

Le transporteur de glucose GLUT4, une molécule clé dans le DT2, permet la captation du glucose circulant, notamment dans la phase postprandiale, par les muscles et le tissu adipeux en réponse à l'insuline. Dans des conditions non stimulées (conditions basales, à jeun), GLUT4 est efficacement retenu à l'intérieur de la cellule dans des compartiments intracellulaires, par un mécanisme de rétention encore mal connu. En réponse à la stimulation insulinique postprandiale, GLUT4 est inséré à la membrane plasmique par une exocytose accrue et/ou par une rétention diminuée, permettant ainsi la captation cellulaire du glucose.

Les buts de notre recherche sont doubles. Tout d'abord, nous voulons comprendre in vitro le trafic intracellulaire de GLUT4 et ainsi établir comment il est altéré dans l'insulinorésistance, une condition associée au DT2, et s’il est sensible aux micronutriments, notamment ceux issus du repas. Pour cela, nous étudions dans des cellules résistantes ou non à l'insuline plusieurs paramètres du trafic de GLUT4, en particulier la rétention intracellulaire, la signalisation insulinique et la dynamique de GLUT4 dans des differents organelles intracellulaires. Nous étudions également l'implication d'espèces réactives d'oxygène (ROS), elles-même régulées par les micronutriments/ phytomicronutriments, dans le trafic intracellulaire de GLUT4 dans des conditions physiologiques et physiopathologiques.
Le deuxième aspect de notre recherche est plus translationnel: diverses approches sont utilisées pour découvrir de nouvelles façons de potentialiser le trafic de GLUT4 in vitro et in vivo. En particulier, nous visons à augmenter la présence de GLUT4 à la surface de la cellule en interférant avec la machinerie de rétention intracellulaire ou avec la signalisation insulinique. Pour cela, nous étudions les effets de différents composés de l'alimentation, dont des micronutriments/ phytomicronutriments. Notre but ultime est d'améliorer le maintien d'une homéostasie glucidique normale en prenant comme cible moléculaire le transporteur GLUT4.

L'ensemble de ces recherches permettra de mieux comprendre comment les apports alimentaires en micronutriments et phytomicronutriments peuvent moduler certaines complications délétères associées aux dérégulations de l’homéostasie glucidique postprandiale, notamment associées au DT2.

Principales publications de ces dernières années
 Mots-clés : Glut4, adipocyte